The name for this blog was mostly a mishap. I was listening the Paul Simon’s song, “Call Me Al” on my way to work one morning and was inspired by the part,

He looks around around
He sees angels in the architecture
Spinning in infinity
He says Amen and Hallelujah

And then even further intrigued when I found out it was a design term. Every project or building needs flexibility, a little wiggle room, creating an “angel in the architecture” as a counterpart to situations in which “the devil is in the details.”

I’m an engineer! I thought, this will be genius. Unfortunately, every one else did too. The name was taken by an art gallery, a naughty website, a book tour, and a few bloggers, one of which broadcasted every detail of her day using phrases like “OMG” and gave up after just TWO DAYS of writing in 2009. The other wasn’t lucky enough to get even that far.

So unfortunately I decided on this next-best, not-quite title.

